Your Advisory Neighborhood Commission [ANC]

Washington DC has 37 Advisory Neighborhood Commissions [ANC] and nearly 300 single member district [SMD] Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners. Each commission includes several SMDs, with approximately 2,000 residents in each SMD (determined by the most recent census). ANC Commissioners are elected every two years by the residents of the SMD. The positions are unpaid and nonpartisan.

ANCs and ANC Commissioners advise the District government on issues affecting their areas including: The District’s budget, planning, transportation, traffic, parking, street improvements, recreation, social services, health, public safety, police protection, sanitation, trash collection, and Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC) licensing. There is no public policy area which is excluded from the purview of the ANCs.

The ANC system exists to ensure that the City government hears input from an advisory board made up by residents directly affected by government action. ANC commissions are the bodies of government with the closest official ties to the people in a neighborhood. In fact, ANC positions and recommendations are presented to government agencies, the executive branch, and the Council as well as independent agencies, boards and commissions. The ANCs may also present their positions to federal agencies.